Asansol Burdwan Seva Kendra :

ABSK Knowhow :

Who we are :

Asansol Burdwan Seva Kendra (ABSK) is the Social Service Society of the Catholic Diocese of Asansol, formed in the year 1998 to adress the need of the poor and marginalized section of the Diocese of Asansol.


Who we are :

we Dream…

"To restore human dignity of the marginalized and the exploited through an enabling & empowering process".

we work Towards…

“Transform our society into a community where faith, love, justice and peace are established”

Our Thrust Areas…

• Education

• Agriculture

• Health


• Gender & Children issues

• Relief and Rehabilitation


• Sustainable and improved agriculture

• Natural Resource management

• Formal & Non-formal Education

• Community Based Education

• Community Health , Care and Support for the HIV/AIDS

• Promotion of Gender equality & Women Empowerment

• Safe migration

• Care & Support for exploited children

• Community Managed Disaster Risk Reduction

• Housing & Sanitation

• Vocational Training for youth

• Income Generation Programme

Our Operational Area…

• Districts………….3

• Blocks…………….41

• Panchayets…….332

• Villages………….3420

• Geographical area….. 13,3000sq.kms


The operational area of ABSK consists of the district of Burdwan and 10 Police Station areas of Birbhum and three Police Stations of Bankura. The total area covered is approximately 10,000 sq.kms, consisting of 65% of the area being agricultural and (mainly used for paddy and potato cultivation) and 20% of the remaining land being inhabited and used for housing, small-scale industries, factories etc. the remaining 15% of the land consists of coalfields, barren and forest land. Our coverage area is predominantly rural with 80% of the population living in villages. Apart from the indigenous tribal, our target people consist of all needy and marginalized individuals/communities, belonging to various sections of our society in the rural as well as urban areas of the Catholic Diocese of Asansol.

Area of Intervention:

Burdwan, Bankura & Birbhum Districts of West Bengal.